The best marketing courses: free and paid

For a structured beginner programme, take the Google Digital Marketing & E-commerce Professional Certificate on Coursera; for short free certificates, start with HubSpot Academy and Google Skillshop. Prices, length and certificates below were checked on each provider's own page on 1 November 2026.

For a structured beginner programme with a certificate, the Google Digital Marketing & E-commerce Professional Certificate on Coursera is the most complete pick. For short, free certificates, start with HubSpot Academy for inbound, content and social media marketing, and Google Skillshop if you run Google Ads or use Google Analytics. For SEO and AI search, the free courses from Semrush Academy and Ahrefs Academy are the quickest way in.

How we picked

We researched these courses from public information on each provider's own course, pricing and help pages, all checked on 1 November 2026. A course stayed on the list only if the provider still offers it and its price, format, length and certificate could be confirmed there. We favoured well-known providers. This is a comparison of what the providers publish, not a review of the teaching, and prices can change or differ by country.

CourseProviderPrice (checked 1 Nov 2026)LengthCertificate
Digital Marketing & E-commerce Professional CertificateGoogle on Coursera$49 a month (US and Canada)About 6 months at 10 hours a weekYes
Inbound CertificationHubSpot AcademyFree2 hr 45 minYes
Content Marketing CertificationHubSpot AcademyFreeAbout 8 hoursYes
Social Media Marketing CertificationHubSpot AcademyFreeAbout 5 hoursYes
The Strategy of Content MarketingUC Davis on CourseraIncluded in Coursera Plus9 hoursYes, with the paid certificate option
Digital Marketing SpecializationUniversity of Illinois on CourseraIncluded in Coursera PlusAbout 3 months at 10 hours a weekYes
Google Ads and Google Analytics certificationsGoogle SkillshopFree (most certifications)Self-paced; 75-minute Google Ads assessmentYes, valid one year
Keyword Research EssentialsSemrush AcademyFree24 lessons, about 1 hr 52 minYes
Answer Engine Optimization (AEO) CourseAhrefs AcademyFree1 hr 26 minOptional exam
Meta Certified Digital Marketing AssociateMetaUSD 99 to 150 equivalent per exam90-minute examYes, valid 24 months
Reforge membershipReforge$1,995 a yearAnnual membershipNot stated

1. Google Digital Marketing & E-commerce Professional Certificate

This is an eight-course programme made by Google and sold on Coursera. It teaches digital marketing and ecommerce from the ground up.

It suits career changers and junior marketers: Coursera lists it as beginner level, with no experience or degree required. It is the most complete structured option on this list.

Coursera estimates six months at 10 hours a week, studied online at your own pace. You earn a Google Professional Certificate that you can share on LinkedIn. On 1 November 2026 the course page said Coursera charges $49 per month in the US and Canada after a 7-day free trial, and that most learners finish for less than $300. It is also included in Coursera Plus, and financial aid is available.

2. HubSpot Academy Inbound Certification

HubSpot Academy's Inbound Certification covers inbound marketing: building a customer-centred strategy, using HubSpot's flywheel model and creating buyer personas. HubSpot Academy is the free training arm of HubSpot.

It suits beginners and teams new to inbound who want a short, free course with a certificate at the end.

It is free and has 7 lessons, 15 videos and 4 quizzes, about 2 hours 45 minutes in total. You earn the certification by passing a final exam. For a broader follow-up, HubSpot's free Digital Marketing Certification has 10 lessons, 30 videos and 8 quizzes, about 3 hours 24 minutes, covering SEO, email, social media, content and reporting.

3. HubSpot Academy Content Marketing Certification

The Content Marketing Certification is the longest of HubSpot Academy's marketing certifications and covers content marketing.

It suits marketers who write or manage a blog or content programme and want a free, structured course with a certificate.

HubSpot lists it as free, online and about 8 hours long. As with HubSpot's other certifications, you watch the videos and take short quizzes to finish each lesson, then pass the certification exam and complete practical exercises.

4. HubSpot Academy Social Media Marketing Certification

The Social Media Marketing Certification is HubSpot Academy's course on social media marketing.

It suits people who run social channels for a business and want a free certificate.

HubSpot lists it as free and about 5 hours long, in the same video, quiz and exam format. A follow-on course, Social Media Marketing Certification II, takes about 3 hours.

5. The Strategy of Content Marketing (UC Davis on Coursera)

This course from the University of California, Davis, runs on Coursera and is taught by Rebekah May. It covers content marketing strategy with graded assignments.

It suits marketers who already have some experience (Coursera rates it intermediate) and want university-style coursework. Learners rate it 4.5 out of 5 from 5,393 reviews on Coursera.

Coursera says it takes 9 hours across 4 modules, self-paced, with 9 assignments. To get the shareable certificate you buy the certificate option; the course is also included in Coursera Plus. The Coursera Plus page showed EUR 50 a month or EUR 343 a year on 1 November 2026, with a 7-day free trial.

6. Digital Marketing Specialization (University of Illinois on Coursera)

This seven-course specialization from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign runs on Coursera.

It suits beginners who want a university-branded programme: Coursera lists it as beginner level, with no prior experience required. Learners rate it 4.7 out of 5 from 23,153 reviews.

Coursera estimates three months at 10 hours a week, and says most learners finish in three to six months. It is self-paced, ends with a shareable certificate and is included in Coursera Plus. The page does not state a separate price; financial aid is available.

7. Google Ads and Google Analytics certifications (Google Skillshop)

Skillshop is Google's own training platform, with self-paced e-learning courses written by Google product experts. It offers Google Ads certifications for Search, Display, Video, Shopping and Apps, and the Analytics Academy, which has four training courses and a Google Analytics certification.

It suits anyone who runs Google Ads or reports in Google Analytics. Agencies need these certifications to meet Google Partner requirements.

Google says Skillshop and most of its certifications cost nothing, and the Analytics Academy courses are free. The Google Ads assessments take 75 minutes and need a score of 80% to pass; you can retake one a day later. Certifications are valid for one year. Google is also testing proctored Professional Google Ads certifications in Display, Search and Video, which it says will require a fee in future; the foundational certifications stay free.

8. Semrush Academy: Keyword Research Essentials

Keyword Research Essentials is a free Semrush Academy course taught by Alex Lindley, with Semrush's head of academy, Rita Cidre. It covers choosing seed keywords, building and mapping a keyword list, topical authority and rank tracking, and adds prompt research for AI search. The lessons use Semrush tools.

It suits marketers who know basic SEO and want a practical keyword process, especially if they already use Semrush.

It has 24 video lessons that add up to about 1 hour 52 minutes. You earn a certificate by passing a final test, with three attempts before a one-month wait. Semrush says its courses and certificates are free. Semrush Academy also lists a free On-Page SEO and AI Search Essentials course (23 lessons, about 1 hour).

9. Ahrefs Academy: Answer Engine Optimization (AEO) Course

This free video course from Ahrefs is taught by Sam Oh, Ahrefs' VP of Marketing. It covers how AI search works, how AI platforms choose what to cite, prompt research, content that AI tools cite, brand mentions, YouTube, technical AEO and how to track AI traffic.

It suits SEO and content marketers who need to adapt to AI answers in search. It is also the shortest course on this list.

It is free with no sign-up, and has 12 lessons in 5 modules, 1 hour 26 minutes in total. An optional certification exam has 50 questions; the page does not state its cost or pass mark. Ahrefs Academy also offers a free SEO Course for Beginners (14 lessons, 2 hours).

10. Meta Certified Digital Marketing Associate

This is Meta's entry-level certification for Facebook and Instagram advertising (exam 100-101). You prepare with Meta Blueprint's free online courses and learning paths.

It suits marketers who run paid social on Meta's platforms and want a proctored credential rather than a course completion badge.

The exam has 60 questions in 90 minutes, and you need 700 out of 1,000 to pass. The certification is valid for 24 months. Meta says its certification exams cost the equivalent of USD 99 to USD 150, depending on the exam and country, and shows the exact price at checkout. A 30-question practice test and a study guide are available.

11. Reforge

Reforge sells an annual membership with live cohort courses, more than 40 on-demand courses, over 600 guides and more than 1,400 work examples, created by experienced operators from fast-growing companies. Its topics are product, growth and AI, with live growth courses such as Growth Foundations and AI Growth.

It suits experienced growth and product marketers at software companies, not beginners looking for marketing basics.

The individual plan costs $1,995 per year plus tax; team plans start at $9,995 per year for 10 seats. Reforge says individuals can start with a free trial. The pricing page does not mention certificates.

Frequently asked questions

Are there free marketing courses with a certificate?

Yes. HubSpot Academy's certification courses are free. Semrush Academy says its courses and certificates are free. Google's Skillshop says most of its certifications cost nothing, and its foundational Google Ads certifications stay free. Ahrefs' AEO course is free, with an optional certification exam.

What is the best marketing course for beginners?

For a full programme, the Google Digital Marketing & E-commerce Professional Certificate on Coursera: eight courses, no experience needed, about six months at 10 hours a week. For a quick, free start, HubSpot Academy's Inbound Certification takes about 2 hours 45 minutes.

How much does the Google Digital Marketing certificate cost?

On 1 November 2026, Coursera's page said it charges $49 per month in the US and Canada after a 7-day free trial, and that most learners finish for less than $300. It is also included in Coursera Plus, and financial aid is available.

Do marketing certifications expire?

Some do. Google says its Skillshop certifications, including Google Ads, are valid for one year. Meta's Digital Marketing Associate certification is valid for 24 months. The HubSpot Academy pages checked do not state an expiry.